Raw…For Good?

One of the very nicest things about life is the way we must regularly stop whatever it is we are doing and devote our attention to eating. {Luciano Pavarotti and William Wright, Pavarotti, My Own Story}

For the past month, I have eaten one raw meal a day (and then some!) just to see how it would make me feel.  The 30 days have come to an end, and I am excited to report my findings.  Before I do, though, I would like to express my sincerest gratitude to all of the amazing chefs, authors, dabblers like me, bloggers and raw foodists that have paved the way and made it so easy and enjoyable to try something new.  I love how all of the information and inspiration I seek is ready and available for me…when I am ready and available for it.

So, let me start by saying that I am extremely pleased with the outcome of my little raw foods experiment.  To recap, I ate one raw meal a day, but did not hold myself to only one.  When I felt moved, I ate raw, which it ended up being a lot.  That’s what happens when you have ‘raw foods on the brain’!  My staples were fresh juices, smoothies, salads, coconut milk, superfood supplements, fruit salads, nuts and seeds.  I made the more elaborately cool recipes less than I would have liked, but was rarely disappointed or hungry when I did have the time to indulge.  I took full advantage of the fact that raw foods are becoming more and more available in grocery stores and ate plenty of ready-made raw snacks.  I worked my dehydrator, my juicer, blender, slicer and knives all to the bone, but not literally – ew.  I tasted many food combinations I couldn’t have dreamed up on my best imaginative day.  I got my hands dirty and it felt clean.  I felt a different connection to my food and the earth which is a bit difficult for me to explain.  Guess you’ll just have to try it for yourself.

These were the biggest and best takeaways for me:

  1. My skin is completely clear.  After having had a skin reaction/rash on my face for months, my skin is clear and vibrant again!  For this reason alone, I vow to continue my commitment to raw foods.
  2. It felt really good to have a shift in consciousness and an increase in energy.  I became quite absorbed in it all and because of this, I truly experienced living foods.  I felt a subtle shift in my relationship with the earth and appreciation for all that it can bring to life.
  3. I experienced food in a new way, a fun and exciting way.  The flavors, colors, textures and new combinations brought life back in to my daily repertoire.  So nice to have new options and inspiration.
  4. I became and have become more aware of my food choices
  5. I felt lighter, overall, and for sure lost a few pounds.
  6. It has given me a broader perspective with which to counsel my clients

Having said all of that, one of my questions going into this was, “could I, or would I want to go completely raw after having had this experience?”.  The answer for me, I found out, is no.  I like warm food.  My body and psyche like warm food.  I have discovered that eating more raw foods is good for me in so many ways, but so is traditionally prepared chicken soup when I’m sick, or a oatmeal on a cold winter morning.

Now I will recalibrate and find a new balance between raw and cooked foods.  It’s all working out beautifully.  I will continue to study and explore food, nutrition and their effects on my particular body, but ultimately I will go in and in and in to find the answers my body, mind and spirit are looking for.  The answer are always within.

Some recommendations if you’re looking to experiment with raw – favorite recipes and resources from my adventures in eating raw:

The best tools for the job:

Go raw!  Go you!

Be inspired.  Eat well.  Live well.  Be happy.

Love, Patti

p.s.  Next blog post:  Anxiety, Food and Thought, Part 1

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

